Queen bedQueen Bed
6 huéspedes
3 dormitorios
3 camas
1 baño
6 huéspedes
3 dormitorios
3 camas
1 baño
No se hará ningún cargo por ahora

This 3 BR cottage in historic Catherine Hill Bay has a special feel with its original features and old polished timber floors . As soon as you walk in the door you have a feel of the "good old days".

El lugar

This unique, renovated miners cottage, situated in historic Catherine Hill Bay, has a charm all of its own, retaining much of its original features and old polished timber floors whilst adding its own unusual decor.

With 3 double bedrooms, 2 with queen size beds and the double bed in the 3rd, there's plenty of room for 2 or 3 couples to share or for a small family.

The living room has 2 fully upholstered sofas, large flat screen TV and quality music system,

The kitchen has been fully modernised whilst still retaining that old family kitchen feel and includes a full size fridge and microwave oven. Wide double glass doors open out onto a large undercover deck with views over the native bushland. ... Just sit and listen to the birds and let life's pressures slip away. ... perfect for that late afternoon BBQ and glass of wine.

The bathroom needs to be seen to be appreciated and is shaped like the inside of an old water tank and the shower recess is huge. There's also a washing machine in a separate shed in the backyard.

For the kids. there's a playground right across the road with plenty of room to throw or kick a ball around and the Beach in only two minutes walk away ... simply walk cross the road, through the park and down the track and you're there.

Catherine Hill Bay is a totally unique piece of Australian History and is the perfect place to escape to. Sit and relax amid this quiet historic mining village and watch the world pass by or ride a few waves on one of the best surfing beaches in Australia.

Disponible para huéspedes

You will receive a code to you mobile phone, on the day of your arrival. This will allow you to access the key in the lockbox.

Atención a los huéspedes

Access to the property is via a security coded lock box and we will SMS you prior to your arrival with your pin number, instructions & directions to the property.

We are also contactable by phone 24/7

Otros aspectos destacables

Prior to arrival, guests must sign our Guest Registration which lays out our Tenancy Terms and Conditions (House Rules) and agree to abide by these Terms and Conditions An electronic signature incorporating a current Credit Card details for security is required.

These details are transmitted in compliance with the Payment Card Industry (PCI) Data Security Standard.

Lugar de estacionamiento privado

Lugares para dormir
Dormitorio 1
1 cama tamaño queen
Dormitorio 2
1 cama tamaño queen
Dormitorio 3
1 cama matrimonial

Reglas de la casa
Prohibido fumar
No se admiten mascotas
No se admiten fiestas o eventos
Horario de llegada: de las 14:00 a las 00:00.
Salida antes de las 10:00
Llegada con acceso libre con lockbox

Please note that we have a Duty of Care to our Property Owner and these conditions are strictly enforced. Guests must read, agree to abide by and electronically sign our Guest Registration (House Rules) by providing current Credit Card details, before we provide the check in details and instructions

Check-in/Check-out times.
Check-in is 2.00 p.m. (2.30 p.m. during the Christmas/New Year School Holiday period). Check-out is 10.00 a.m. Late check-out may be arranged at an additional cost (subject to availability)

Number of guests.
Exceeding the number of booked guests shall render the tenant liable to cancellation of the booking.

This is self-service accommodation. Basic household cleaning materials are provided, (vacuum cleaner, broom, mop & bucket). Please keep the property clean and tidy at all times. Cleaning is your responsibility during your stay. For stays over 9 night’s duration, the accommodation will be serviced weekly... The premises must be left in neat & clean condition. All washing up is to be done or AN EXCESS CLEANING FEE WILL BE CHARGED. All breakages, damages and missing items must be paid for.

PARTIES & ANTI SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. & WILL RESULT IN IMMEDIATE CANCELLATION OF THE BOOKING. All outside noise must cease by 10.00 p.m. and all internal noise by 11.30 p.m. Please consider the neighbours.

Garbage disposal.
All garbage must be placed in the receptacles provided. Please place recyclable paper, cardboard, glass and plastic bottles in the recycling bin with the yellow lid (see information on inside lid) Fish must not be cleaned on the premises.

Furniture and furnishings must not be moved out of the room it currently occupies. If it is moved within the room(s), it must be placed back in its original position before departure.

Improper or misuse of linen.
Bath & hand towels, etc. that are soiled by makeup, sunscreen or other similar products, will be charged at replacement cost, as will all linen that is soiled, damaged or marked beyond salvage.
Swimming Towels.
Please DO NOT use the bathroom towels. If you require towels for swimming & haven’t bought your own, please contact us. Hire charges apply

Right of entry.
Tenants must allow Lakeshores management entry to arrange for any necessary repairs.

Pets are not allowed unless by prior arrangements. Animals are strictly forbidden at Raffertys Resort.

Our properties are a Smoke free environment. Smoking is only permitted outside or on balconies. Dispose of butts thoughtfully.
Keys are the responsibility of the tenant. Any costs involved in replacing them and/or in gaining entry owing to the keys being lost, including forced entry and new locks, are the responsibility of the tenant. Leave keys in the lock box on your departure. See “using the lock box”

No responsibility is taken for personal property left on the premises either while in occupancy or after departure. Guests are responsible for their own personal effects. Our Insurance DOES NOT cover guests’ personal effects.




4 evaluaciones

Perfil de usuario de Sophia
Junio de 2017
This place is a real gem. My boyfriend and I loved escaping the city to stay here. We felt like we could really relax and enjoy the space. Boardies at the Bay has tons of character and charm (we especially loved the feature oven, corrugated bathroom, funny mugs, herbs and seashells dotted around the place)! The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen was a joy to cook in (very good gas cooker/oven + big fridge) and the indoor electric heater was insanely effective. The key safe outside was really convenient and the staff from Lakeshores Accommodation (including Mark) took great care of us (remotely) - we were even offered a late check-out because the weather had been bad! Despite it's rustic style, it felt very clean and well looked after. We really couldn't recommend this place more and would consider returning. Also, the water tasted so frikkin pure (better than our Brita filter at home)! Items to consider (for the fussier types): shower gel, olive oil, salt, pepper, coffee, coffee peculator/machine, cling film/tin foil, rolling pin, candles, wine glasses (there were only plastic ones when we were there), bug deterrent, board games/cards - all were amiss, but easily sourced at nearby shops. Other things to consider: if you are more than 4, the only place to really eat together is on the covered deck out back (leading onto the big garden). You'll be surrounded by birds and well sheltered, but it can get a bit nippy in the winter (good job there are woolly blankets to hand). You might also want to bring a portable speaker. The living room has ghastly bright lighting, so we didn't hang out in there too much (a lamp or two would be a great investment). The toaster is only a two-slicer, but the grill compensates for this. My boyfriend said he was awoken by the sound of the ocean followed by passing cars in the late morning, I, however, slept through both like a baby. The beach, which is a stone's throw away has great surf. Lake Macquarie, a 10mins drive away, is great for boat hire and fishing. There's a comprehensive book in the house that details many things to do locally. Simply perfect for a weekend away, thank you very much :)
Perfil de usuario de Mark
Respuesta de Mark:
Thank you so much for this comprehensive review, we would certainly love to have you back. We have passed on to the owner your suggestions re the speaker, games etc and hopefully we will be able to further improve the property based on your suggestions. We really value the time you have taken to give such great feedback. thank you.
Junio de 2017

Perfil de usuario de Jan
Diciembre de 2016
This is a beautiful, authentic, comfortable home, but it has limited indoor space, so I would recommend it for a couple, or maybe even 4 persons, but it is really not a comfortable stay for 6 adults. One would not complain at all if priced more reasonably. Whilst one must acknowledge that it was Christmas, so peak season and you expect to pay more, it has no beach views, is a substantial walk to the beach, is across the road from a potentially noisy Bowls Club, and only offers very basic amenities, the price of well over $2000 was excessive.
Perfil de usuario de Mark
Respuesta de Mark:
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay however, I feel I should clarify that Catherine Hill Bay is a heritage listed mining village dating back to the 19th century (the only things that have changed are the road are now sealed.) and, to maintain this heritage, the exteriors of the cottages are not allowed to be altered. It is, therefore, a very unique part of Australia and, even the Villagers themselves don't want town water or sewerage. Also, because it is so unique, properties in the village command high prices. ... The price you actually paid was well below that charged for other holiday cottages in the village. p.s. The Bowling Club is for the locals, many of whom are long retired
Diciembre de 2016

Perfil de usuario de Toby
Agosto de 2016
The property if full of rustic charm, we loved staying there. It was so close to the beach, which is fantastic and the back deck, where we spent most of our time, has a beautiful view and a great vibe. Mark was very efficient in dealing with us. A gem of a little town, which I'm sure will sadly change when the new housing development is finished. Better get in there quick people!

Perfil de usuario de John
Junio de 2016
Mark was very informative and organised the booking well. Unfortunately the property wasn't up to standard. It's a heritage listed property but is very cold in winter. Main fuse kept blowing with the use of a little heater, I only had on 3 lights in the house and a small oil heater. Mouse droppings in the bathroom and kitchen and dust and dirt on the pillows in 2 bedrooms. If the property was clean and the power issue fixed it may be a good place to stay.
Perfil de usuario de Mark
Respuesta de Mark:
Thanks for your feedback, John and we’ve followed through on the points you mention.. The electrical problem sounds very much like the heater may have had an intermittent fault, blowing the fuse when it’s thermostat kicked in. As you mentioned, Catherine Hill Bay is a Heritage Listed Township surrounded by National Parks which is part of the property’s charm. I’d say the mice have come in from the bush, sought shelter from all the atrocious weather we’ve experienced lately. We immediately set traps as soon as we were made aware of the problem. As your booking was very much last minute, we simply weren’t given the time to check the property before your arrival which is our normal practice. If you had contacted us at the time, we would have changed the pillow cases (again possibly soiled by the strong winds forcing dust movement in the ceiling) and changed the heater. ... We can’t rectify a problem if we don’t know about it. Boardies is what it is and what we represent it to be, a heritage listed, original miners cottage. As a the daughter of the original owner told us “My dear old mum...now 78 was born and grew up in this house and she could not speak more highly of the way it has been so well kept and also renovated without losing it's original character”
Junio de 2016

Este anfitrión tiene 101 evaluaciones por otras propiedades.

Ver otras evaluaciones
Lake Macquarie, AustraliaSe registró en Febrero 2014
Perfil de usuario de Mark
At Lakeshores, we manage a wide range of Holiday Homes around Lake Macquarie on behalf of out of town owners, who have each furnished their homes to suit their own lifestyles. We invite to you to have a break, be it for a weekend or a week or more in one of these well maintaine…
Idiomas: English
Índice de respuesta: 100%
Tiempo de respuesta: en menos de una hora

El barrio

Espacios similares