Quaint 4bd Inner-city Terrace
Hospedado por Alannah
Alannah es el anfitrión.
8 huéspedes
4 dormitorios
5 camas
2 baños
8 huéspedes
4 dormitorios
5 camas
2 baños
No se hará ningún cargo por ahora

This uniquely designed historic house with a vintage feel is on the doorstep to the city centre, park your car and walk to it all. The home offers three bedrooms upstairs and a bedroom downstairs, two living spaces, two showers, a toilet upstairs, a toilet downstairs, a small courtyard and a garage space for 1 car but there is also off-street parking nearby. Darlington is full of historic houses that are over 100 years old, so you'll be staying in a charming neighbourhood with lots of history.

El lugar

The building accommodates a large number of people easily, the terrace house structure with brick walls and multilayered ceiling reducing sound penetration between rooms, helps to ensure there is ample opportunity for people to mingle together or withdraw to the solitude of their own room. The rear extension to the terrace has transformed the building into a sun filled 21st Century home while the cast iron balustrade on the front balcony dated 1895 and 1897. The house has a lot of history and was well-loved by its previous occupants.

The kitchen is the centre of the community space down stairs with the lounge, featuring the TV, on one side and the sun fill dining room facing on to the back court yard on the other. The kitchen is recently renovated and set up with the basics. The rear of the terrace faces north hence why the glass walls at the rear of the building capture the light so well, then with the internal light well providing natural light into the centre of the building, all rooms receive natural light without taking away that warm cocoon of the traditional terrace. Then there is the second toilet and laundry tucked away in the light well for your convenience.

We've just put in new floorboards in the living room and in the downstairs bedroom, where the chequered linoleum floor used to be (as seen in the photos). We did these to brighten up these rooms, we hope you enjoy them.

The main three bedrooms are upstairs, two with queen beds, middle bedroom has a double. Each bedroom has an individual character and provide easy retreat from the communal section downstairs. The rear bedroom has its own bath/shower with the north light and views of city skyscrapers. Beside that is the main bathroom, compact but newly renovated. The middle bedroom has a charm of its own with its ramshackle shape while the front bedroom and balcony provide that traditional mood along with an urban outlook where you can sit and contemplate your neighbourhood.

Unfortunately our house is not suitable for people with a disability, as both bathrooms are situated upstairs. There is a toilet downstairs in the laundry space, but the two showers are upstairs (one in the Masters Bedroom and the other one in the shared bathroom).

The fourth bedroom is on its own as your enter the house, while small it has been set up with two single beds so it can be used by a couple or children.

Disponible para huéspedes

We will keep the walk in wardrobe in the main bedroom for ourselves, otherwise it is all yours. You are welcome to park a vehicle in the back or use the space as additional entertaining area, whatever suits you.

The car parking space is accessed from Vine Lane. Drive into Vine Lane from Edward St. Drive past the roller door, the third and last roller door on the right after entering from Edward St. Reverse into the car parking space. It is tight but we park a VW Multi-van daily in the space when home.

Atención a los huéspedes

The house is yours, our son Dylan lives in Sydney and can be contacted if any issues arise during your stay. Dylan built the extension at the rear of the terrace, lived in the house for many years and has lived in the area for 16 years so he is a font of knowledge with regard to the house and area so will assist where he can.

Otros aspectos destacables

If you are coming to Sydney by plane, the best way to get to our house is by taxi. It's only a 15-20 minute drive so it should cost around $30 AUD. Alternatively, you can get a bus to Central Station/Railway Square and walk around 20 minutes to our house. You can catch the train, the Airport line will take you to Central Station, from there you can either walk to ours or get another train to Redfern Station, which is 10 minutes from our house.


Servicios
Internet
Lugar de estacionamiento privado
Internet inalámbrico

Precios
Personas adicionales $8 / noche más de 4 huéspedes
Tarifa de limpieza $121
Depósito de seguridad $403
Descuento por semana: 15%
Precio por fin de semana $339 / noche
Comunícate siempre a través de Airbnb
Para que tus pagos estén protegidos, nunca transfieras dinero ni te comuniques desde afuera de la página o la aplicación de Airbnb.
Más información

Lugares para dormir
Dormitorio 1
2 camas individuales
Dormitorio 2
1 cama matrimonial
Dormitorio 3
1 cama tamaño queen
Dormitorio 4
1 cama tamaño queen
Zonas comunes
2 sofás

Reglas de la casa
Prohibido fumar
No se admiten mascotas
No se admiten fiestas o eventos
La hora de llegada es a partir de las 15:00
Salida antes de las 10:00
Llegada con acceso libre con lockbox

Please be respectful to our neighbours, it is a tightly settled area and although there is a degree of privacy in the back area, sound travels beyond the fence, so no parties. Please do not smoke inside the house. Loss of keys, breakages/damages to property may incur a replacement fee. We may consider pets but have high expectations about their management, must be discussed prior.

Aspectos que también debes tener en cuenta
Es necesario utilizar las escaleras - 2 flights of stairs
Puede haber ruido - It's a densely populated area, so expect the usual Inner-City noises.

Cancelaciones

Funciones de seguridad
Detector de humo

Disponibilidad
Estancia mínima de 3 noches

73 evaluaciones

Veracidad
Comunicación
Limpieza
Ubicación
Llegada
Calidad
Perfil de usuario de Cary
Octubre de 2017
Large house in a nice residential area fairly close to the Redfern train stop, with many restaurants and shopping centers in walking distance. Check-in/out was very easy!

Perfil de usuario de Maria
Junio de 2017
The house was perfect for our group of 6. The wifi was great! The location was wonderful for us.
Perfil de usuario de Alannah
Respuesta de Alannah:
Hi Maria, thank you and we are glad that you and your family had a great time in the house!
Junio de 2017

Perfil de usuario de Jeanne
Junio de 2017
Not a place I would recommend or stay at again! The house was dirty when we checked in. Kitchen counters were sticky with what looked like jelly, kitchen sink dirty, condom wrappers in bedroom, hair in the shower and dirty bathroom sinks. There were multiple light bulbs burnt out in many of the rooms. The hosts were quick to respond to my complaints. They initially said the apartment had not been cleaned and then said it had been cleaned but not by the usual person. They refunded $366 of the $1159 we paid. I sent them pictures to demonstrate how dirty it was and asked for an additional refund. David replied "Sorry it does not meet your expectations but the issues you have raised do not overly concern me." Luckily these people do not represent most Airbnb hosts
Perfil de usuario de Alannah
Respuesta de Alannah:
Hi Jeanne, this is Marjorie, the daughter-in-law who usually manages the house. I was overseas when this all happened, and it was I who first responded to your complaint. As per my response, the house was cleaned, by a trusted family friend, but when David read your complaint, he thought that perhaps it wasn't cleaned in the end. After speaking to our family friend, who has cleaned for us before and didn't get any complaints then, he had assured us that the kitchen benches, sink and bathrooms were cleaned, but unfortunately I was not present to do a double-check. He, unfortunately, didn't see those wrappers you're referring to in one of the bedroom drawers, as he was only instructed to wipe down the surfaces of these drawers, not to check if they were empty. Perhaps that was my fault. As for the lightbulbs, the 2 out of 5 lightbulbs were taken out from the living room chandelier because it affected how the light dimmer was working, and we didn't have time to get an electrician to check it out just before we went overseas. However, we felt that the 3 lightbulbs in the chandelier and the lamp were sufficient enough to light up the space. Also, the lightbulbs in the other rooms were all checked before we left and were in good working conditions. Again, we apologise for what happened and for the miscommunication. We can assure that this was an isolated incident, and we've certainly learnt from it and can only improve from here on.
Junio de 2017

Perfil de usuario de Chris
Octubre de 2016
Alannah's place was just what we were looking for. It had plenty of room for our entire group and is in a great location. It's spacious, clean, and has a great backyard patio that we enjoyed. I'd gladly stay there again!

Perfil de usuario de Marla
Julio de 2016
Great house. Very central. Used only train and light rails. Left car in car park. House fit 7 of ud perfectly. Great rental.

Perfil de usuario de Peggy
Mayo de 2016
We enjoyed our stay in this mid century modern/contemporary decorated vintage house on Vine Street while in Sydney. The house was close to Redfern station for transportation anywhere. We also frequented the Eveleigh Hotel, The Bike Shop, and The Rabbit Hole which were extremely close restaurants with great food. Uber came promptly to the location as well when we ventured out to further restaurants or locations in the evening.

Perfil de usuario de Leanne
Marzo de 2016
Our overall experience in Darlington was great. From the beginning, Alannah was great at answering any questions we had and was also able to accommodate us on a special request. We didn't have any problems getting into the house (we arrived late at night) and it fit our group perfectly. The house is in a great college-like neighborhood and is about a 5 minute walk to the train station. We were able to find the grocery store and other little cafes easily within the neighborhood. I would totally recommend staying here if you're visiting Sydney.

Broadwater, AustraliaSe registró en Mayo 2015
Perfil de usuario de Alannah

I'm only one half of this enterprise as my partner David Cowgill is the main stay. I'm a passionate collector of Australian Pottery and ceramics. A bit shy with social media. Our main enterprise is running Our Daily Bread Cafe in Broadwater which takes most of my time, please to find out more about that little project . Hence putting our home on AirBnB allows us to come home to the city regularly while sharing our delightful home, a win win. We are being assisted by my son Dylan and daughter-in-law who are based in Sydney.

Índice de respuesta: 100%
Tiempo de respuesta: en menos de una hora

El barrio

Espacios similares