Amanda, we've worked with the homeowner to ensure your concerns are thoroughly addressed and they have requested to respond with the following comments:
"Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that it wasn’t clear that Evolve is a booking management company that handles private individual’s properties. It is our understanding that most of the properties listed on Airbnb are indeed owned and operated by private owners like ourselves who take our guest’s comfort very seriously. That is why we like to have a brief “meet-and-greet” with ALL our guests. I didn’t actually meet you, other than to drop off the trivettes. I met instead with you mother and aunt, who seemed thrilled to have that personal touch and information that I like to provide. Every other 4 and 5 star review that we have had on other rental sites has been very complimentary of the fact that we give that personal touch.
With that said, we have not a single complaint about the twin bed up until now but after the note someone from your party left behind, we immediately replaced the mattress as we had no idea it was that uncomfortable. We would have been happy to have fixed that sooner had we known. The implication in the note that we intentionally made someone sleep on it was, quite frankly, offensive. We would never dream of making someone’s stay intentionally uncomfortable. No vacation homeowner would!
With regards to my husband coming over to check out the porch swing, he actually came over to check on the propane tank for the gas grill. He should have done that prior to your arrival and for that we apologize. We had been out of town until the day you arrived and didn’t have time to do that earlier. He did say that everyone was very friendly and engaged him in conversation with lots of questions about the sawmill.
Who this “stranger” was fishing in our pond is a new one on us. Had you reached out to us, we would have promptly taken care of that. But since you didn’t let us know that was happening, we could not address this while you were there.
Every other guest and review that we have had has raved about how beautiful the property is, how comfortable the house is, and how they appreciate our personal touch, which for the record is usually just the meet-and-greet. We’re sorry that we were not your “cup-of-tea”.
To any other potential guests, know that many of us who host Airbnb’s do it for the chance to meet and greet interesting people. We hope you feel the same!"
The homeowner works diligently to ensure guests have a pleasant vacation experience at their cabin, and we're confident future guests will enjoy their stay! Best, The Evolve Team